So, I've watched football because that years but I never ever truly taken this rule. A player can't touch the ball after going the end of bounds prior to reestablishing themselves inbounds. For example, a recipient runs the end of bounds, come in bounds and also catches a pass. What walk it mean to "reestablish yourself" in bounds? This is what I always hear announcers to speak to define the rule and also why a player was penalized.

You are watching: Can you go out of bounds and come back in football?


*

It's only for if you're pushed out.

If you run out voluntarily, girlfriend can't touch the sphere at all uneven someone rather does. If you're driven out, you have to return to the pat of field immediately, thus creating yourself. Therefore in the terms of this rule, establishing means directly returning to the field of play.


And simply to clarify, "establishing yourself" just method placing both feet earlier in bounds. Think of that like catching a pass on the sideline, but in reverse. The player have to put both feet down ago in the field of play before touching the ball. This commonly comes up more with touchbacks ~ above punts due to the fact that the goal heat is treated prefer an the end of bounds line in that scenario.


Its to protect against someone who is propelled out of bounds from continue to be out the bounds, then the QB throwing the round towards wherein he can be, and the recipient waits it spins the last second, then from behind players on the side lines jumps in bounds and also catches the ball while anyone else believed he was throwing that away.

Thats the only instance I deserve to think of for this rule.


From the dominance book

If an eligible receiver is compelled out of bounds by a foul through a defender, consisting of illegal contact, protective holding, or defensive pass interference, he wil become eligible come legally touch the pass (without prior emotional by one more eligible recipient or defender) as soon as he re-establishes himself inbounds with both feet or with any component of his body other than his hands. See article 8, keep in mind 3

Note 3 says:

If a player touch the ball after having actually been the end of bounds, however prior to re-establishing himself inbounds with both feet or any part of his body other than his hands, the pass is incomplete, and there is no penalty for illegal touching.

So usually there's no special meaning to the word. It just way you came back inbounds.


3
Share
ReportSave
level 1
· 8y
Washington soccer Team

If they are thrust out of limit they can touch the sphere I believe. Never ever really interpreted why they have the rule myself.


1
Share
ReportSave
level 2
· 8y
Saints

It's therefore if you're moved out that bounds friend can't usage the sideline together camouflage. To speak a edge gets thrust out, and also ends up to run downfield the end of bounds alongside all their teammates ~ above the bench, wherein the QB can't distinguish them as an active player. The QB watch a wide open recipient on the sideline and also throws that up, but at the last second, a dude jumps in indigenous the sideline and intercepts it. That would be especially crappy.

See more: Is Saying The F-Word A Mortal Sin, Is Saying The 'F' Word A Mortal Sin


2
Share
ReportSave
Continue this thread 


level 1
· 8y
NFL
level 1
· 8y
Vikings
Doesn't that simply mean you need to have both feet in bounds? exact same as if you to be making a capture on the sideline?


1
Share
ReportSave
More short articles from the nfl community
Continue looking in r/nfl


*

r/nfl
This is a subgimpppa.org for the NFL community.
2.2m
or less


9.3k

Thankful soccer is back!


Created Sep 13, 2008
Join
*
*
*
*

*

Top write-ups march 25th 2014Top posts of march, 2014Top short articles 2014
helpgimpppa.org coinsgimpppa.org premiumgimpppa.org gifts
aboutcareerspressadvertiseblogTermsContent policyPrivacy policyMod policy
Back to Top